weekend recap

This past weekend was really long and tiring, but I wouldn’t take it back for any reason. Friday night at the Feather Sound Church’s winter retreat I got the opportunity to play a set of worship music for the youth group. They were really awesome. They had so much energy and excitement, it kind of made me jealous that our youth isn’t as fired up. I learned that night that I don’t like sleeping in a room full of middle school boys. I’m sure you can imagine how that night went. Saturday morning, after breakfast, we got to play another set for the youth. Justin even pulled out the infamous M&M’s guitar.

Saturday afternoon was where the day started getting interesting. Travis, Emily, and myself lead an open forum for the college students. We gave them all post-it note pads and had them write down any questions that they had about anything and stick the notes on the wall. We were expecting the basic church camp questions like “how do I grow closer to God?” and “how often should I read my Bible?”, but what we got blew us away. These students wanted to know about addictions, lust, marriage, homosexuality – some really edgy topics. I hope we didn’t offend anyone by the answers we gave, but I know that we really opened their eyes to some new ideas (the truth) that they had never been given the chance to hear before. Most of them even came up to us afterwards and thanked us for what we had talked to them about. I hope we made a difference.

Once again there was another music set that night. We blew it out. I haven’t had that much fun playing music in a long time. My bed has never been as comfortable as it was Saturday night.

One last note, if you are a college student from Feather Sound, I hope we disturbed you.  I hope we shook you up.  I hope we made you think.

~ by mikemonts on February 4, 2008.

8 Responses to “weekend recap”

  1. you most definitely shook us up, but it was amazing. we really needed that as a group and indvidually too. thanks for bein’ so real.

  2. so real.
    i loved it.
    it was an amazing 4 hours.
    definitely shook us up.

    thanks so much for being so truthful.so real.

    -bubba

    && amazing worship services too. the excitement our group has is phenominal! 😀

  3. man, you guys brought it this weekend. everything was so amazing. especially saturday night.

    but what’s up with not wanting to sleep with the middle school guys? isn’t that the best part of the weekend?

    hope you get caught up on some sleep. we’ll see ya’ll soon.

  4. Love the new layout. Is that you in the photo?

  5. The time that I got to sit there and listen to you all talk was edifying. I am so grateful for the time we got to spend. I only wish that we were allotted a longer time period. Thanks for your insight on the situations.

    John Davis

    P.S. If you continue on with Guitar Hero, good luck with beating Lou on Expert. That’s one rough battle.

  6. Thanks man for everything this weekend. The time we spent as a group was a much needed time for all of us. Some of us are still growing up and have a lot more to do. With that being said, you helped us in many different areas. I think you guys made a major impact on our weekend as i know you did mine. The music was awesome and everything you guys did this weekend brought glory to his name. For that i want to say thank you.
    Shea

  7. I was blown away by y’all’s responses as much as y’all were blown away by our questions. The Lord really spoke through you guys and I hope He continues to do so. I’m glad I was there! Godspeed and God bless you, your wife, and Travis!!

  8. Son, I’m so proud of you!!

Leave a comment